This week in Usability & Productivity, part 32

I’m back from Akademy, and I can’t wait to share some of the cool stuff that happened there over the past week. I’m going to post the video of my talk as soon as it’s up. But first, I know what you’re all really waiting for: this week’s Usability & Productivity update. Though we were all quite busy, somehow everyone managed to accomplish an enormous amount of work, too!

In particular there has been a momentous amount of improvement to Kate and the code that underpins it: the Syntax Highlighting and KTextEditor frameworks. These frameworks are used to provide text editor views to the Kate, KWrite, KDevelop, and Kile apps, so any improvements to them are felt very widely within the universe of KDE apps. I want to recognize the efforts of Christoph Cullmann, Dominik Haumann, Kåre Sårs, and Sven Brauch for their stunning amount of work. While I was working on this post Tuesday night, there was a time when I was literally (not figuratively, I mean literally literally) unable to document the improvements as fast as they would show up in my email inbox. These guys deserve the community’s respect for the stunning quantity of work they performed in an astonishingly small amount of time. Let’s give ’em all a round of applause.

But that’s not all! Take a look at the full list, which includes many, many more nice improvements:

New Features

Bugfixes

UI Polish & Improvement

Next week, your name could be in this list! Just check out https://community.kde.org/Get_Involved, and find out how you can help be a part of something that really matters.

If my efforts to perform, guide, and document this work seem useful and you’d like to see more of them, then consider becoming a patron on Patreon, LiberaPay, or PayPal. Also consider making a donation to the KDE e.V. foundation.

6 thoughts on “This week in Usability & Productivity, part 32

  1. The KCM window size fix is very welcome! However I don’t think it was included in 5.49, since I’m still experiencing the same issue on Neon with Frameworks 5.49.

    Like

  2. As usual: wow! I was sure this week you guys will take the time off – sort of, because of the Academy, this is work too. Also I hope you were still able to relax or sightsee Vienna at least a bit, you are still humans ;). Nobody would fault you for taking a week off from usual Usability news and from working on Plasma, especially because of the Academy.
    Great thanks to you Nate and Christoph Cullmann, Dominik Haumann, Kåre Sårs, and Sven Brauch and others who worked on making Plasma and KDE better :D.

    Like

  3. Hi! The other day I was editing the name of an application with the KDE Menu Editor and I notice that there is no option to search an application by its name, it’s a little detail but it would be an useful addition I think.

    Like

Leave a comment